VORW Radio International expands with shortwave broadcast to Australia

Many thanks to SWLing Post contributor, John from VORW Radio International, who writes:

My weekly radio show “VORW Radio International” has now expanded with additional transmissions to Europe and even a transmission to Australia!

Each broadcast features a mixture of my commentary and listener requested music. You’ll hear a great variety of music in this program, from Classical to Classic Country, from Rock to Smooth Jazz, you’ll hear it all!

If you’re interested in listening, the updated broadcast schedule is as follows:

  • Thursday 1300 UTC – 1400 UTC – 6070 kHz to Europe
  • Thursday 2000 UTC – 2100 UTC – 6070 kHz to Europe
  • Friday 0100 UTC – 0200 UTC – 7490 kHz to North America (8 PM – 9 PM Eastern, Thursday)
  • Friday 1130 UTC – 1230 UTC – 3210 kHz to Northwest NSW, Australia

Questions, comments, reception reports and music requests may be sent to vorwinfo@gmail.com

Reception reports will receive a QSL!

Very cool and bravo for expanding your broadcasts, John!

Spread the radio love

1 thought on “VORW Radio International expands with shortwave broadcast to Australia

  1. Jason

    I might try and tune in to this from Adelaide, but I only have portable receivers and no serious DX antenna, I’ll see how I go tonight though.

    For Australians, this translates to a time of the AU broadcast to:
    Brisbane/Queensland: 9.30-10.30pm
    Sydney/New South Wales: 10.30-11.30pm summer, 9.30-10.30 winter
    (NSW times also apply to Melbourne & Victoria, Tasmania & Hobart)
    Adelaide/South Australia: 10-11pm summer, 9-10pm winter
    Darwin/Northern Territory: 9-10pm
    Perth: 7.30-8.30pm (as unlikely as a DX from here would be)

    Note: WA, QLD and NT don’t have daylight savings

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.